Is AAT Foundation suitable for complete beginner?

mge
mge Registered Posts: 94 Regular contributor โญ
Hi. I'm very interested in learning bookkeeping/accounts, but am an absolute beginner. I do have good educational qualifications in other areas though, and have very good numeracy skills.

Is it a good idea to dive straight in with the AAT Foundation course, or should I sign up for something a little more basic first. Another alternative at my local college is the IAB Bookkeeping Certificate.

Any advice would be very gratefully received.

Comments

• Bluewednesday
    Bluewednesday Registered Posts: 1,624 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Go for it!

That was exactly how I started, you will be fine.
  • mikes
    mikes Registered Posts: 254 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Hi,

Welcome to the forums. The foundation is ideal for beginners, as it will teach you all the basics, that you need to know in doing double entry bookkeeping, such as journals, the different types of documents used for supplying goods and paying invoices etc.

Just about everyone there will most likely either have no prior knowledge of accounts or hasn't done studying for a long time and it will be good to get them back into studying.

The IAB bookkeeping will also teach you this and you can use it as an excemption for the foundation level and move straight to the intermediate level, you may have to do the work skills test or Health and safety unit at this level though.

Best of luck, for whichever you choose to do.
  • MWAUGH1983
    MWAUGH1983 Registered Posts: 420 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Yeah foundation is very straight forward and it teaches fundamental areas. DR and CR which is pretty much the core building blocks of accounting are so easy to absorb at this level that it helps for pretty much the rest of the course and your future depending on how far you take it.

If you no foundation then opt for the 6 mths option as its more than acheiverable.

Just go for it!!

Martin