Subcontractors bookkeeping

lorraine
lorraine Registered Posts: 404 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
Hello All,

I am fairly new to this, please could someone tell me are there any complications or things that I need to know with regards to the above. It's a courier business if thats makes any difference!

Thank you in advance for any of your kind help!

Comments

• Psyche
    Psyche Registered Posts: 187 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    What do you mean by subcontractors? Do you mean you are doing bookkeeping for someone who is working as a subcontractor, or bookkeeping related to how the business is paying its subcontractors?
  • A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Or do you mean the filing there monthly subcontractor return?
  • lorraine
    Sorry I wasn't that clear, I mean't that a guy has enquired about me doing the bookkeeping for him and he is a sub-contractor. Hope this makes sense

I have never done bookkeeping for a sub contractor before, but have carried bookkeeping for self employed and ltd companies, what type of things do I need to be aware of if any.
  • lorraine
    A-Vic wrote: ยป
    Or do you mean the filing there monthly subcontractor return?

Is this only for the CIS- Construction Industry Scheme though? - I have been trying to search the HMRC website but it only refers to Sub Contracting in the CIS, or am I not seeing the info!
  • lorraine
    Carrying out bookkeeping for a Sub Contractor

I think I am over complicating things, sorry I'm new to this, I have been trying to work this out myself and have came to the conclusion that if he is a self employed sub contractor then the bookkeeping would be treated the same way as if it was a self employed person. I don't see that there would be a difference unless I'm missing something.
  • Raging Pineapples
    Raging Pineapples Registered Posts: 110 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰