AAT trainee job and placement job

SeanTan
SeanTan Registered Posts: 7 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi all student members,

This is my very first post in AAT forum. I hope I will get some useful information and help from all other fellow members =)
I am a second year university student doing BA(hons) Accounting and finance. I've currently signed up for AAT student member and taking exemptions from my degree which I'm currently doing. I'll be straight down to level 3 of AAT. I'm taking a four-year-couse(sandwich course), which means during my third year of degree will be my placement(industry) year. We are expected to get a placement job in third year of degree.
However, due to the economy downturn, placement opportunities are halve, so i'm thinking of doing AAT trainee which I think is a pretty good alternative for me since the one year AAt trainee experience will add into my AAT qualification. But the problem is, I dont know whether im allowed to do this instead of doing a placement job in my third year of degree as we have to report ourself to the uni.
Well, that is first part of my question. Second part of question will about AAT job description. What do we do as an AAT trainee? As I mentioned above, I'm starting off from AAT level 3 without taking any ATT exam before. Will a company hire me as an AAT trainee? At which stage of AAT would a student member be hired by the company? Thank you for your time to read my thread. And comments will be very much appreciated.

Comments

• RichardK
    RichardK Registered Posts: 107 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Hi all student members,

This is my very first post in AAT forum. I hope I will get some useful information and help from all other fellow members =)