Accounting and GCSE Maths

Daniel E
Daniel E Registered Posts: 28 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi there,

I'm a university graduate and I've recently started studying the AAT course at cerificate level. However I received a grade C for GCSE Maths. I want to know if anyone thinks it is worth me retaking GCSE Maths to improve the prospects of finding accounting related employment? Is this necessary or will my ability to pass the AAT exams and skills tests be sufficient evidence of my level of mathematical proficiency?

Many Thanks

Comments

• A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Hi

No need at all i also had a grade c but am now doing diploma level
  • Daniel E
    A-Vic wrote: Β»
    Hi

No need at all i also had a grade c but am now doing diploma level

Thanks for the response. However I know that I don't need a higher grade to complete the qualification. I'm asking more in terms of actually getting employment. Would it make a difference?
  • A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Well same again i started working for an accounting practice 5 years ago i did have GCSE's and a-levels however doing what you are doing now shows more competence than any GCSE and would put you in good sted for a job in accountancy.

And as a matter of fact completing the AAT is the equvalent of a first year degree so i would just concentrate on completing this.

Good luck

Vic
  • RowanB
    RowanB Registered Posts: 158 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    A C's a decent grade anyway. Employers tend to ask for C or above I think, and yes, passing the AAT qualification is strong evidence that you're competent with any required mathematics. Good luck Daniel and welcome to the forum.
  • Dipak Thanki
    Dipak Thanki Registered Posts: 135 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰