Advice

spurschic1@yahoo.com
spurschic1@yahoo.com Registered Posts: 94 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi all,

I am currently studying the Technician Stage. Just a thought that although the AAT gives you some great subjects such as budgeting, Cost Analysis, it dosn't give you how to do a full set of company accounts from scratch using sales, purhcases and bank statements. I have always worked in a large company with an ETB at the touch of a button.

Any advice how I can pick this up other than working in an accounting firm? Are there any text books?
Thanks

Comments

• slackda
    slackda Registered Posts: 460 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Have they changed the DFS papers? im sure how to do full set of accounts is covered in that, but then it is 3 years since i did my DFS exam.
  • A-Vic
    A-Vic Registered Posts: 6,970 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    slackda wrote: »
    Have they changed the DFS papers? im sure how to do full set of accounts is covered in that, but then it is 3 years since i did my DFS exam.

sure do you have a full set of accounts consolidated cashflow and interpritation of accounts.
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I can't remember everything that was covered and okay so it won't tell you how to do the complex accounts of a multinational but for a simple, small limited company it's a good start to be built upon with CPD and practical experience.

Foundation: principles of double entry, cash books, P/L, S/L & N/L, control accounts, bank recs and the ITB.
    Intermediate: the ETB, depreciation, accruals & prepayments, journals, incomplete records, basic VAT, handling assets, introduction to P&L and B/S plus partnership/sole trader accounts
    Technician: limited company accounts, introduction to accounting standards, cashflow statements, interpretation of financial statements etc

I think you've been given the knowledge maybe you just haven't yet had the application?
  • sdv