Accountancy Self Employed Work

Options
Marky Astra
Marky Astra Registered Posts: 45 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi everyone,

Im currently working at a small accountancy practice and thinking about getting a couple of my own clients to complete some work to earn some extra money. I have waited until now because i was given a wage review in February 2010 and it was very disapointing to say the least.

I was wondering if anyone in the same situation would be able to give me any advice on how to get started and whether it would be a good idea.

Im currently studying in my Level 4 Technician stage of AAT. Obviously the work i would undertake would not be too advanced for me, im looking to do a few hours bookkeeping for a few people each week/month etc. I wouldnt want to complete final accounts just yet as they would probably expect me to complete tax work and this is not something i would want to do yet as i feel it may be too advanced for me. I work on year end accounts at the practice i work for so i know what i would be doing and working towards if i was to do some work for a client.

Ive spoke to my employer about having a couple of my own clients and they said it would be fine as long as i obviously didnt use my work time to do my own personal work which i thought was very nice.

Any information would be greatly appreciated, hopefully im looking for information on the following:
Hourly rates i would be able to charge
How to start - advertising etc
Work i could complete (just bookkeeping or accounts preperation?)

Thanks for looking

Marcus

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hi Marcus

It sounds like you have the right approach.

I'd suggest completing work to TB.

Depending in your area bookkeepers charge £12-30 per hour; I would suggest £15-20 is about right.

Remember professional indemnity insurance.