Starting out - how to charge?

KW17 2LN
KW17 2LN Registered Posts: 12 New contributor 🐸
Hello

I am planning to start working for myself (as a practising MAAT) during the next year or so, and currently interested in how people set their fees and charge their clients. I'm interested particularly in charging on a fixed price (rather than time) basis and would be extremely grateful if you could give me any pointers and wise advice.

Thankyou in advance.

Comments

• Fingersan
    Fingersan Registered Posts: 84 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi KW17 2LN

I have been working for a firm of Chartered Accountants for nearly 20 years and quoting for a job is a very difficult decision.

First and foremost, you should decide an hourly rate to charge, beit £30 or £40 per hour. Although you do not want to quote an hourly rate, it is important to bear it in mind so that if a client brings in their records and you think it would take 4 hours (half a day) to prepare their accounts and Tax Return, then you should think about charging £120 to £160 based on the above.

However, you should also consider what clients are currently paying and if you can match or better their existing accountancy fee. For instance, if a client comes to you having paid their previous accountant £300 and you think it may only take you a day (7 hours) to complete the job, then if you are charging say £30 per hour, you would in theory charge £210, but I would probably up this to £250 or £275 so to cover the cost of any incidental meetings / calls from the client during the year.

I hope this helps.
  • deanshepherd
    deanshepherd Registered Posts: 1,809 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Quoting for me is very easy.

I look at my fixed price list and read out the figures.
  • T.C.
    T.C. Registered, Tutor Posts: 1,448 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️