Bookkeeper/MIP referral arrangement.

dantray
dantray Registered Posts: 72 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi,

I am after some advice:

I am currently studying Tech level with final exams next month (I already hold provisional full membership). On completion I plan to progress onto ACCA. I currently work at accountancy firm.

The end goal is to have my own practice under ACCA. I am aware that I can't be an AAT MIP whilst studying ACCA and also that to practice under ACCA requires 3 years post qual experience. However, this will be five or six years from now at the very very earliest and I don't want to wait that long to be up and running.

What I've been thinking is to set up providing the permitted book keeping/payroll/VAT services whilst studying ACCA and once time is served then will be able to set myself up in a fully licensed practice. Hopefully by then I will have an established client base and the transition from employed to self employed shouldn't be too much of a problem.

Until then I am conscious of the limited services my clients would be able to receive from my practice and it is this that I would like some advice on because I have an idea and am not quite sure if it would work, or even if it is permitted.

What i was thinking is I could set up as a book keeping practice but establish a relationship with an MIP whom I could recommend my clients to once book keeping is complete for further accountancy/tax work.

(Subject to negotiations) I was thinking that if could find an MIP who would allow my clients a discounted service and pay me a comission for referring them in the first place then I could create a service that would be beneficial for all.

Now the following is an example and of course figures can be negotiated:

I complete all book-keeping up to trial balance and as I am not permitted to take the work any further, I recommend my client uses MIP X as they can get a 20% discount for services.