First time accounts for a Sole Trader

CrystalClear
CrystalClear Registered Posts: 4 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Sorry if this has been discussed elsewhere already, (I've searched and can't find... and there's lots of blogs...)

I'm a full member and helping a friend out with her books, and it's my first time. She begun her catering business mid Dec 09 and didn't keep any records, other than a "pile" of receipts, bank statements and a rough pad with daily till collections.... The biz is not VAT registered.

I'm planning to use the VT cashbook as it looks pretty simple and suitable for her business needs.

However, I'm a bit stuck on Sole Trader accounts/tax returns.

Firstly, does she have to fall into the 2009/2010 tax return bracket? (There's a lot to do).

Secondly, for a Sole Trader, do they just require the P&L figure?

Thirdly, Seeing as it's not VAT reg nor Ltd, once the P&L is done, is the tax return fairly straightforward to complete?

Lastly, I can do the bookeeping, but should I refer them to e.g. MIP for the tax return bit?

Thanks (and sorry if any of this is rather obvious).

Comments

• Jan
    Jan Registered Posts: 654 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
    Crystal
    I honestly think you should just do your freinds bookkeeping, you haven't the experience or knowledge to help her with accounts/tax return.
    A pile of receipts, bank statements and a rough pad of "takings" are sometimes all an accountant has to go on, but if you tidy it all up for her and present the accountant with reconciled bank statements etc you will be helping your friend enormously.
  • Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Good advice from Jan.

Yes, if she started trading in Dec 2009 she will have to complete a 2009-10 tax return and she should have registered with HMRC as self employed within 3 months of starting to trade.