Late payment charges

10110527 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
One of my clients has charged one of his customers late payment & interest charges. As he is VAT registered, should these charges be vatable? At the moment he has not added VAT to the bill.

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    VAT exempt.
  • blobbyh
    blobbyh Registered Posts: 2,415 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    I thought the compensation element was vat-able with only the calculated overdue interest part non-taxable?
  • Monsoon
    I thought the compensation element was vat-able with only the calculated overdue interest part non-taxable?

I'm pretty sure the whole lot is exempt though I'm by no means a VAT expert so am happy to be corrected if so. I've certainly never seen it VATed.
  • blobbyh
    Online research seems a bit vague with differing opinions.

This one implies no vat on the interest part only:
    http://payontime.co.uk/common-misconceptions-about-the-late-payment-legislation

This one says no vat on any part, compensation or interest:
    http://www.deliver-it.biz/2008/04/what-are-late-payment-charges/

This one doesn't know either way (about half way down):
    http://www.ukbusinessforums.co.uk/forums/showthread.php?t=57682

For ones I've received (most recently from Regus [Virtual Office providers]) and done in real life, VAT is charged on the compensation element but not on the interest part!

So no definitive answer unless someone else knows it?!
  • Monsoon
    In the last link (from UKBF, I know it well!) The only accountants to contribute to the thread are Kent Accountant (very knowledgeable) and 3pic (ultra hot VAT expert). They both agree there is no VAT on either the interest or the fine/late payment fee.

That agrees with my experience of it, and if those 2 agree, that's more than good enough for me!
  • blobbyh