MIP Feedback

olivia
olivia Registered Posts: 13 New contributor 🐸
Hi all, just looking some advice, I am thinking about going out on my own my background is that I finished my exams about two and half years ago while in another career. I then got a role in practice as a trainee, I have spent the last two years working towards my chartered qualification but with having three small children and with the long hours expected of you plus the study I have struggled to cope with the demand. I have now decided to take a step back from this and with my AAT qualification and the experience I have gained over the past two years would be interested on going out on my own. Some people have said that I am mad to take this step, but for me personally its a relief and have handed in my notice. I have the option of maybe getting a job elsewhere as a bookkepper or maybe finance assistant just to gain more experience before thinking of becoming a MIP. I know there are similar threads to mine, but I would like to here from anyone who maybe was in a similar position to myself and how have they coped. Any feedback would be welcomed.

Thanks

Olivia

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    I wasn't necessarily in the same position to you but I had some similarities.

I studied AAT whilst at a firm of chartered accountants and went on to do ACCA. I was unhappy at the firm as my willingness to work hard and progress wasn't being noticed and to a degree I was being held back my office politics and staff who had no interest in progressing.

I looked around for a while but nothing seemed to be about at the time that I fancied. I had always wanted to set up my own firm but wasn't sure if the time was right. I then found another role that seemed great but they were going through a lot of change. Even though they had said they wanted me, six months passed with them still saying something will happen soon.