Quick Hello and advice saught

Options
Parmstrong83
Parmstrong83 Registered Posts: 10 New contributor 🐸
Firstly I just wanted to say Hello!

I did have an account under the old forum but my username seems to have been deleted, oh well. I am also an active member on the accountancystudents forum, but that seems to be very low traffic of late.

My name is Patrick and am a new MAAT, I am currently studying CIMA with a view to moving into a Management Accounts role later on. I am currently working in Sales Ledger but actively trying to get into a more varied role. I have tried applying for several accounts assistant/asst management accountant roles but never seem to make it to interview.

I currently work for a large FTSE150 company and I have a feeling this may be putting SME’s off giving me an interview. I really want to try do something to make myself more attractive to these kinds of business, it is because of this I am considering doing a SAGE course. I had considered the IAB level 3 Computerised Accounts, that way I can add a few extra letters after my name as well as gaining SAGE knowledge. I am just wondering how fruitful this exercise would be and how valuable the qualification will be to me, especially considering I would be studying CIMA at the same time (dropping to one exam per session until Sage completed).

I am going to be attending my first CPD and branch meeting on Monday at the Suffolk Branch, as it is on Cashflows I hope this will help me with my revision for CIMA. I am also hoping that I will be able to meet a few people and find out how they developed themselves from a newly qualified MAAT. I am quite a shy, quiet person and am a little nervous about just turning up for the meeting but am sure it will be ok.

Any help, advice, tips that anyone can give would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Options