Teaching or Bookkeeping?

mind_of_cubozoan
mind_of_cubozoan Registered Posts: 4 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone

I need a real job (currently a school science techncian) to support my 1 year old daughter etc. I have thought about my skills and really teaching or bookkeeping are the best options.

I have a physics degree but no honours - which makes it difficult to jump onto graduate programs. I could teach (need to get in before current government changes everything) and get the holidays but working in a school makes me not want to teach children sometimes. Also with a mortgage I will struggle on training bursaries. I have been thinking about jumping on an evening college AAT course but of course I am not employed in that sector which could make it difficult.

So if I ended up with an AAT, is there loads of you floating about looking for your first job in accountancy? Is it a competitive field? I just wonder what the way forward is?

Many thanks for reading and looking forward to your insights and experiences.

Regards

Andy.

Comments

• Andypandy
    Andypandy Registered Posts: 526 Epic contributor 🐘
    I'd look at finance officer work in the public sector - decent pay, flexi-time, plenty of provision for emergencies with childcare etc. They'll also like the fact that you'd do AAT at evening classes. Bookeeping'll have you stressed out for the first week of every month, & teaching'll have you stressed out permanently:( Even if you look at temporary roles within councils, it's actually quite rare that anybody ever leaves.
  • stevef
    stevef Registered Posts: 258 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Very rare to find jobs in the public sector at the moment with the current budget cuts, infact we are shedding posts at an alarming rate.
  • jorja1986
    jorja1986 Registered Posts: 210 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰