How do I market myself?

Suzy
Suzy Registered Posts: 9 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
Hi, I have just become a MIP and am excited about working for myself (I also work as a Financial Controller 24 hours per week). I have the computer, Sage, business cards etc. The only thing I'm missing is customers! I have done a few leaflet drops through private and business addresses, put posters on boards and half a dozen people I know have showed interest but I haven't got any further with it.

I was just wondering if anybody out there has any advice on selling yourself (I am finding this really hard!). Is it best to advertise in the local press? How do other MIP's find their work? Should I write to all the local accountants and see if any of them have any surplus work I could take on? I am losing momentum fast!! Help!

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Getting the first few clients is the hardest part - after this, the best advertising kicks in, which is word of mouth.

Just get your name out there, but don't spend a fortune. Look for cheap and free advertising - free online directories, local parish magazines, newsagent windows, local chamber of commerce free breakfast networking meetings, google maps entry (this worked wonders for my google rankings). My experience is based on a small rural town, if you are in a city it might be a bit different but the bottom line is get your name out the wherever you can.

I believe ServiceStart has also worked for some people and may be worth looking into.
  • Sean
    Sean Registered Posts: 2 New contributor ๐Ÿธ
    Hi Suzy,