Advice on completing the spreadsheets software unit

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi Folks

I am studying the AAT via distance learning and on the advice of my tutor, I an thinkng of completing the spreadsheets unit using work based evidence (rather than sitting the assessment), since I use spreadsheets every day at work.

However, I only started my new office based job last week doing full time credit control. I have not mentioned to my employer the fact that I am studying the AAT. I get the feeling that if I do mention it, he may get the impression that I am looking for a better job than just credit control. However, if I decide to complete the sreadsheets unit using work based evidence, then obviously I need to mention this to my new employer.

I don't think it would be a good idea for 2 reasons -

1. I have only joined the company last week, and signed a contract agreeing to do a credit control job, and it may be too early to mention this work based evidence since the employer may think I am being a bit cheeky.

2. As mentioned above, I get the feeling that if I do mention it, the employer may get the impression that I am looking for a better job than just credit control.

What would you do if you were in my position?

Any advice would be grately appreciated.

Comments

• Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hello Geek

Having spoken to my assessor (by email) and my manager there were various issues to consider with regards to work based evidence one being confidentiality of data.

In the end I sat the CBP and preferred this to work based evidence as I knew that I would cover all the criteria in one 'exam' rather than need to submit and map different spreadsheets to the various learning outcome areas etc. for marking by the assessor.

I think you will also find it a lot quicker to study the material and sit the CBP which is allocated 2.5 hours.