Financial Statements exam next week - already panicking!

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi Folks

I am in a bit of a dilemma, and have had a few sleepless nights over this -

As you may already know, I am studying level 4 through distance learning. I have gone through most of the 'Osborne' book related to the Financial Statements exam. However, I still do not quite understand the last chapter, chapter 8 fully. I am due to sit the exam next Friday the 23rd.

My problem is this -

1. Do I book half day holiday from work (I have got a full time job) and sit the exam (knowing that I might fail it), but by doing so, get a general idea of the 'difficulty' of the exam, because I think there is a good chance that the same questions will be given when I do the resit (which seems most likely that I will) ?

2, Shall I cancel the exam and go through the whole book again and re-read the pages/chapters that I do not quite understand at the moment.

The problem with option 2 is that I will need to pay a cancellation fee and also the next available exam date might be a few weeks ahead. In the long run, this will delay the time period in which I can complete my AAT qualification.

By the way, ideally I want to complete the AAT course asap and go on the ACCA as soon as possible!

Any advice would be greatly appreciated (which will hopefully stop me from having these sleepless nights!)

Comments

• uknitty
    uknitty Registered Posts: 591 Epic contributor 🐘
    Chapter 8 is consolidation right ? This one chapter gave me such a headache until I had a "lightbulb" moment using the Kaplan pocket notes .

It is very very likely that you will get a consolidated statement in the actual exam so you have to feel comfortable with this area.