Volunteer work

JasonTurbo
JasonTurbo Registered Posts: 27 Epic contributor ๐Ÿ˜
Just wondered how many people on here had used volunteering as a base to gain more experience. I'm currently studying the Level 2 and intend to go all the way up to MAAT if possible. I work full time (not in accountancy) therefore I would like to gain valuable knowledge by volunteering my time and effort to anyone who will take me.

Anyone had a similar situation to me, or any advice on the subject will be well appreciated :)

Comments

• Sulew17
    Sulew17 Registered Posts: 174 Dedicated contributor ๐Ÿฆ‰
    Hi, a couple of people I'm at college with (studying Level 3) did volunteer last year.Two of them worked at Oxfam who, or so I believe, are always looking for accounts volunteers. They seemed to enjoy it and said they learned a lot about working in an accounts environment. One of the girls actually got a permanent position thanks to her volunteer work!

There is a website just for voluntary positions: www.do-it.org.uk which I have heard a lot of good things about. Alternatively, just go into your nearest Oxfam shop and ask!

Good luck

Su
  • Diddy Mau
    Diddy Mau Registered Posts: 238 Beyond epic contributor ๐Ÿง™โ€โ™‚๏ธ
    Hello Jason
    I agree with Sulew above, I volunteered for six months whilst doing my level 3, as I had no experience and this was the only way to get my foot in the door.
    Upon completing my level 3, I was offered a job, PT yes, but a job all the same.

I agree once your doing the work, you learn a lot.
    Like Sulew says try charity organisations, even if its only data entry. prove you can do the simple stuff well and then extend your responsibilities

Good Luck
  • JasonTurbo
    Thanks for the replies :) I have contacted a local charity which deals in finding volunteer placements around the local area so I will await their response and then take it from there.

Diddy - Whereabouts did you volunteer to if you don't mind me asking?
  • Sulew17