Hi Everyone!

Melody87
Melody87 Registered Posts: 44 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi all,

I just thought I would give a little introduction as I have been snooping about on this forum for a couple of months and never posted!

I'm studying level 4 and only have my two tax unit's left, I worked my way up from level two and have been working in finance for the past couple of years.

My intention is to start up on my own once I have completed my final exams and gained the required experience to become a full member.
The only problem I have is that where I work there are far too many accounts assistants and the work is spread so thin I find myself dealing more and more with fleet and traffic fines (I work for a car hire company) and not nearly enough finance to please the AAT. :( It's looking more and more like I will have to move jobs to get the required experience, this is a real shame as the people I work with are great and I would love to stay!

With regards to experience of being a freelance accountant I hopefully have some lined up, my partner's sister has just started out as a self employed artist and she has asked me for help with her accounts which I will be doing for free until I set up properly myself.

So that's me, any ideas on the gaining experience side of things would be very welcome.

Mel

Comments

• babiekel
    babiekel Registered Posts: 26 Epic contributor 🐘
    Hi Mel,

Welcome to the forum, peopla are ever so friendly on here, a great help!
    I can't help with your question but i thought i would just say hello :o)

I'm doing Level 2 at the moment.

Kelly x
  • Daz1865
    Daz1865 Registered Posts: 67 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi Melody,

So is the problem satistfying the AAT with your work experience? Or are you worried that you won't have enough experience for when it comes to working on your own?