Am I being underpaid?

JJB
JJB Registered Posts: 9 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi Guys,

I'm new to this forum so please be easy on me.

Currently I am at level 4 of the AAT and have passed my ICAS and Budgeting exams so far and have another 4 exams to do by July.

I also work full time at an accountants practise in which is am an accounts assistant doing pretty much everything. Book-keeping, preparing accounts, bank reconciliations, Vat control, PAYE control, debtors reconciliations, PL control, fixed asset schedules and so forth.

I have been working there now for 3 years doing this job, whilst studying towards my AAT.

What I want to know is if i am being underpaid. I'll give you a few details, I work in Birmingham, West Midlands, at a medium sized practise I would say that employs 22 people. (Not sure this is classed as small or medium sized practise?)

I am paid a salary of £12285.00, i am 22 years old this summer and will be AAT qualified (hopefully) by this time too. I started at the company on £11650.00 when I wasn't even level 2 qualified in AAT and was only 17/18 years old which i thought was a decent wage to begin with, however now after doing and learning so much in accounts I feel I perhaps should be on more than this, our company is not struggling in the slightest (believe me!)

Your opinions would be extremely grateful.

Best Regards ,JJB

Comments

• SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod
    I have made a very selective quote.
    I am paid a salary of £12285.00
    I also work full time at an accountants practise in which is am an accounts assistant doing pretty much everything. Book-keeping, preparing accounts, bank reconciliations, Vat control, PAYE control, debtors reconciliations, PL control, fixed asset schedules and so forth.

This is what is important.