Incoherence between AAT and training providers

bigfoot77
bigfoot77 Registered Posts: 8 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi

I would like to rant about both the AAT and the training providers. My experience of contacting both has been very dissatisfying mainly because I keep getting conflicting information.

I have a degree in accounting but want to do AAT instead of ACA/ACCA because of my bad degree class. I contacted AAT and was told I could start at level 4. Then I learnt you need both level 3 and 4 to become MAAT fully qualified and would thus need to claim exemption for level 3. I talked to one of the big providers and they told me they cannot give exemptions because only AAT has the authority to give them. Then the AAT told me that it is at the provider's discretion to give exemption. Another provider said that exemptions do not exist for AAT. I don't know whom to believe! Seems like they are both passing the buck to each other. Did I not explain my case well or did I talk to ignorant and incompetent people?

Also, the AAT says you need to register with a provider first but the providers say you need to register with AAT first. Who is right? I am really confused by all this.

I really want to start at level 4 but one provider even said I should start at level 2 despite me having a degree in accounting! If that is the case, I think I am better off doing ACCA.

I would appreciate any comments or opinions. Can anyone give me clarifications?

Comments

• MarkT
    MarkT Registered Posts: 302
    For a start, the training provider that says you need level 2, rule them out - they're after money nothing more.

To gain exemption from the foundation stages of CIMA, you need level 3 & 4. They do not really weigh on the level 2 which to be honest, is pretty basic stuff.