level 4.going it alone....

gflynn31
gflynn31 Registered Posts: 5 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi all,

Well, I started with AAT back in July last year on level 2 and am now nearly through level 3. I have found it fairly straightforward and logical and would really like to progress onto level 4 as soon as.

I studied via distance learning which suited me better as I am mature(38!!)and have to juggle work/family commitments around. I am unsure about whether to 'go it alone' for level 4 or stay with the distance learning company(Eagle) which to be honest have been excellent in every respect.

The reason why I am weighing it up is mainly that I havent relied on them for any kind of assistance in understanding topics and prefer to work things out for myself. I am also weighing up the financial cost and reckon I can save at least £500 going it alone.

What I need to ask my fellow students is the following

Is it really a massive leap from levels 3 to 4?
Can it be done by going it alone?(I do not work in an accounts related position currently)
How many people start level 4 and then just quit due to the difficulty(my training provider informs me that the pass rate for level 4 is 50% nationally)
For the ICAS module can this be purchased independently and if so for how much?

Sorry to bombard you with all this but it is a fairly big decision. Ultimately I want to work in accounts and I feel that unless I at least have the qualification in full , employers wont give me a second glance

Thanks everyone, and good luck to you all.

Gary

Comments

• SarahJS
    SarahJS Registered Posts: 273 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I'm looking at the same thing. I know ICAS can be bought separately, Kaplan do it less than 200 pounds I think.