Remembering IASs for FNST exam

Spamkebab
Spamkebab Registered Posts: 233 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
Hi gang,
I have read through quite a lot of posts on here and would like to say thanks to everyone, your info is priceless.
However, i am struggling with how much of each IAS (or how well) i will need to remember for the exam. I'm trying my hardest to remember everything but it seems like the only way to answer any questions about IASs correctly is to memorise the full study book.

Has anybody any knowledge or experience of how 'in depth' or how much of each IAS i need to know to be able to answer a question sufficiently?

Can anybody remember any IAS questions from their exam as an example for me to work with?

Any help would be greatly appreciated.

Thank you,

Neil.

Comments

• acorrenti
    acorrenti Registered Posts: 14 New contributor 🐸
    What a good question....
    I'm currently studying FNST & would like to know as well.
  • Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Can anybody remember any IAS questions from their exam as an example for me to work with?

Neil.

Hello Neil

I can't remember the question exactely as it was a while ago that I sat FNST. Have you tried answer the questions from the practice CBA:-

Elm plc will be undertaking some research and development activities in the near future. The directors of Elm plc understand that such activity may result in the recognition of an intangible asset.

Prepare brief notes for the directors of Elm plc to answer the following questions:

What is meant by an intangible asset according to IAS 38 Intangible assets?

What would Elm plc have to demonstrate about an intangible asset arising from development activities before it can be recognised as an intangible asset in the financial statements?

I'll have a look throught my study notes at the weekend and if I can find some more questions I'll put them on here for you.

When are you sitting the exam?