Financial Performance and Budgeting Exams

JaneF
JaneF Registered Posts: 14 New contributor 🐸
Hi All,

Just wondered if anyone had any advice on financial performance and budgeting exams. I am studying them both together at college and are sitting both exams in the middle of May. I feel like there is so much to get through and not sure how to tackle it all! Just wondered what people's experience of the exams were like? Was it similar to the mocks?

Thanks in advance :001_smile:
Jane

Comments

• guinea pig
    guinea pig Registered Posts: 402 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi Jane,
    They both follow on from level 3 costing, and share similarities. I passed the budgeting in January,and found it reasonably straight forward, it closely followed the format of the practice assessments on this site. I and am now working on financial performance, with an exam booked for early May, and am finding it horrendous! I was unable to attend most of the classes, I've more or less worked through the Osborne book, and am now working through the BPP book. My main challenge is understanding and learning the variances, I'm going to have a boring Easter weekend studying!
    Good luck,
    GP
  • SandyHood
    SandyHood Registered, Moderator Posts: 2,034 mod
    Dear Jane

Interestingly, both examiners have asked tutors recently how they approach these papers. So you are in very good company.
    I strongly recommend leaving the mocks until late in your preparation.
    Instead, really master the subject knowledge.

For Financial Performance:
    study standard costing/variance analysis
    key basic statistical techniques such as the use of index numbers and time series, and make sure you know how to calculate elementary arithmetical values such as percentage increases and decreases
    study ratios and put them into a context of managing a business, so understand the actions a company might have followed to generate a particular ratio