2009 graduate requires advice on cima or aat?

ASD09
ASD09 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hi,

Totally new to this so not sure if i have posted in the right area. I have been reading many posts by other users in regards to careers. A little about myself, i graduated in 2009 and was awarded a ordinary pass degree, my final year was a very tough year for myself i suffered a car accident and this affected both my exam sittings including my resits. I was offered to redo the year but really could not afford to, anyway since then i have been working in retail banking, the advice i need is that i am now looking to go back into accounting, i still have the knowledge and still look at univeristy notes and books and have not forgotten the accounting techniques. The advice i require is it worthwhile for me to self study CIMA or AAT, I am looking to fund it myself as i have the savings, I am very comitted to doing well, think through university i was rather imature and not very education focused and now i am very career focused and have the time to study and put things right. All advice and tips are welcome.

Thank you

Comments

• SashaDella
    SashaDella Registered Posts: 362
    What degree did you do? I think it depends on your knowledge.. You could try the skillscheck on the aat website to see how much of the AAT qualification you know. I'm not sure what the requirements for CIMA are, however you could complete Level 3 and 4 of AAT within a year (if you studied hard enough) and then recalculate your options afterwards.

Its worth looking for a related role whilst you study however, as this will support your studies and give you work experience which is essential if you want a job afterwards.

Hope this Helps!
  • ASD09
    Hi,