SAGE...Thoughts?

stephleedz
stephleedz Registered Posts: 179 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
I am due to finish AAT shortly and concerned by the fact that I have NO experience whatsoever in the use of any accounting systems that I have been considering doing a course in SAGE at home online to gain experience in the main accounting system.

I know that a lot of prospective employers want someone who has used Sage/accounting systems and knows how to work with the basics eg: Sales Ledgers, purchase ledgers etc. Which at the minute as I have no experience in the basics means less job opportunities.

Any thoughts?

Comments

• GemmaS
    GemmaS Registered Posts: 178 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hi,

It may be an idea to do a short course. There is a course for £50 for Sage instant accounts, which gives you a Sage certificate. You get the Sage programme and 6 books to work through with an hour long exam at the end.

Any short course like this is always good to have on your CV, regardless off if the company uses Sage, as it shows prospective employers that you are willing to put the time and effort into improving your knowledge and skill set.

Hope this helps!!

Gemma
  • coojee
    coojee Registered Posts: 794 Epic contributor 🐘
    To be honest you probably won't learn anymore on a short Sage course than you did at Level 2 in your CMPA paper (assuming you used Sage for it)
  • SashaDella
    SashaDella Registered Posts: 362
    Yes the course that Gemma suggested is what I am doing now for CA level 2. Its really thorough! However I use an accounts system at work and its confusing knowing one way and learning a total different system.

Every system is different! and company procedure will differ as well. I don't think its an essential skill as long as you are accurate with numbers, and know where things sit in the ledgers you will pick it up within a week!!