What are tolerance levels in relation to credit control & chasing debt?

geek84
geek84 Registered Posts: 568 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi folks

I work as a credit controller and one of the tasks involved is making sure that customers don't go over their credit limits.

As part of my job responsibilities, I also need to check the 'Tolerance Levels' for customers. I don't quite understand how this works, so can someone be kind enough to explain this?

By the way, in case you are wondering, the credit control manager is off sick & I am the only credit controller for the company.

Thanks in advance for your responses.

Comments

• ademoore
    ademoore Registered Posts: 146 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
    Hi,
    No one has answered you, so I'll take a stab at it - I'm not a credit controller, however thinking about the meaning of the word "tolerance" I would guess it's how close cusomters are to their credit limits. I.e. the closer they are, the greater the need to chase outstanding monies and ensure older debts are paid - companies put a credit limit on customers to manage their risk to that customer, and so this sort of thing would need monitoring in order to manage that risk.

You could probably calculate it as a percentage (since differing customers will likely have different credit levels) - amount of debt as a percentage of credit limit - the higher that percentage, the greater the need to chase.

That would be my interpretation from what you have asked.
  • Rinske
    Rinske Registered Posts: 2,453 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Do you put customers on hold/ stop if they haven't paid their invoices in time?

And what happens if they reach their credit limits?