Advice needed please...

Options
karen80
karen80 Registered Posts: 2 New contributor 🐸
Hi,

I'm new to the forum and wondered if anyone could give me any help/advice...

I became a MAAT in 2010, at which point decided to commence CIMA as thought I'd like to move into industry. I'm currently working in the public sector in an accountancy role but really don't enjoy it, but have found it impossible to make the move from public sector to industry because recruitment agencies/employers tend to go for people already in the private sector. I am now wondering whether I actually want to move into industry and have lost all motivation for CIMA (I've currently passed 4 out of the 10 exams so still a long way to go) and am considering not taking CIMA any further at this stage.

I'm wondering whether I would actually be more suited to accountancy practice as I always preferred the finance modules over the costing ones in AAT. Trouble is I have no experience within accountancy practice either so think I would struggle to make that move also. I've considered setting up as a MiP but having no practical experience I'm not sure how I would do this... I've heard about the mentor scheme but surely I'd need some experience beforehand?

Also, when I did AAT I didn't do the optional Personal Tax and Business Tax modules so have gaps in my knowledge there, does anyone know whether its possible to sit those exams now despite being qualified?

The thing that makes it all the more difficult is in my current job I am on a reasonable salary, I am willing to drop to a lower salary but cannot afford to drop to pretty much minimum wage which i think I'd need to do to get the experience I need due to mortgage, bills etc.

So not really sure where to go from here...

Sorry for waffling on, and I hope that all makes sense! Any ideas or help would be much appreciated!

Karen

Comments

• reader
    reader Registered Posts: 1,037 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    karen80 wrote: »