Tell me why I need accounting software rather than HMRC online tools?

Surr3yaat
Surr3yaat Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hello

This is my first time posting on this forum so please forgive me if I've added this to the wrong section!

Next year I'm planning on starting my own accountancy service from home. My intention is to prepare end of year accounts for contractors and sole traders. Right now I'm looking into which systems I need to prepare and submit end of year accounts for clients to Companies House and HMRC.

I've looked at Sage, IRIS, and plenty of other cloud based accountancy software packages, however I've also used the HMRC online filing tools and found these to be very straight forward. At a recent AAT event I attended I was discussing software with one of the speakers who told be that having an accountancy package was essential however I can't understand why.

I'd love to hear your opinions on this as well as the methods you use.

Thanks in advance for your comments

Esther

Comments

• Monsoon
    Monsoon Registered Posts: 4,071 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    If you're just starting out, HMRC free online software is ok.

Paid for software is miles better. You get what you pay for.

If I bookkeep a very simple limited company in VT, and I bookkeep it perfectly, I can then produce a set of Ltd Co accounts in about 10 minutes. You can't do that manually.

I find commercial tax software quicker, too.

Our software:

12Pay - payroll
    VT - accounts production, bookkeeping
    Xero - bookkeeping
    FTax - tax returns
  • Gidon
    Gidon Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
    Hi

It's also worth remembering that most accounting software will be used by your clients to manage their businesses. They will use the software to generate invoices, email statements and keep on top of their receivables and payables. This also means that by the time you pick up their books, they will be in good shape to prepare the financials.