Exams experience & calculation questions

TyJac
TyJac Registered Posts: 42 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi guys.

I self-studied AAT in mid August and booked all my level 2 & 3 exams (except 2 software modules) for October and November. Exams were booked based on what was available at the time, so I basically took 2 exams each week, mixing level 2 & 3 exams together.

In line with the recent change in AAT assessments and the publication of new edition of books such as Osborne books, I studied using the old books and still managed to pass all my exams to date. So I may be able to advise on some possible sections of each exam which they lay strong emphasis on.

All I've left to take is 'Cash management' & 'Indirect tax' which will take place next Wednesday morning and afternoon, then I'll book the software exam for December and then take my level 4 exams in January & Feb :laugh: Then AAT done, and hopefully enough time to book for ACCA exams in-take in June. :laugh:

My advise for those who is going to take AP1 & AP2, manage your time very carefully, if you find a question which you find hard to understand, flag it and come back to it later, and attempt to do other questions, as one question could take up to 20min. I found AP2 very easy compared to AP1, on the feedback sheet, I managed to exceed all sections. Even though I didn't need to stop and think about how to answer the question, it still ate up a lot of time on each section...so time management is important!!!!! (Asset register sheet & accrual and prepayments, asset disposal)

My question is:

How do I flex down a budget in relation to the actual figures?
I know how to flex up a budget.

For example:

Budget Actual
21000 18888 (Production)
13333 11111 (cost)

Do I find the difference between the two production figures and then divide it over the budget production figure and then multiply it by 100 to find the percentage difference? Or do I divide it over the actual production figure then multiply it by 100?

Comments