Too old to start level 3!????

H1983
H1983 Registered Posts: 6 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi guys

Just woundering, I feel too old to carry on with aat!!! I am 30 next year and I haven't started level 3 yet!i just think that there are younger people out there that are more likely to get jobs than a 30 yr old. My aim is to do aat then acca,also I haven't got time to go to college at night so would like to do a distance learning course any ideas?

My question is should I do it or will I regret not doing it ???

Suggestions please thank you.

H :-)

Comments

• Spamkebab
    Spamkebab Registered Posts: 233 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    I started studying bookkeeping with simple City & Guilds qualifications when i was 37, i'm on the final exam for level 4 AAT and i'm 39. My goal was to be qualified before i hit 40.

I have studied level 3 and 4 via distance learning and found this way suits my needs and lifestyle.

In a recent copy of PQ magazine a decent percentage of students were reportedly in their 40's, this gave me a little more confidence.

AAT is a great foundation and stepping stone to beginning a chartered qualification and is a fully recognised qualification in it's own right.

You are not too old to begin. Have you any work experience?

Good luck,

Neil.
  • Nps
    Nps Registered Posts: 782
    I am 36 and have completed levels 2, 3 and 4 this year. I have also done ACCA F1, F2 and F3 this year, and sit F6 next week. I do have concerns, due to my age, that I will struggle to find work when I finish maternity leave, despite having potentially 30+ years of working years ahead of me (luckily I have a good (non accounting) job to go back to if I do struggle). Due to feeling that time wasn't on my side (and funding myself), I have self studied so I could get through the exams quickly. I can only hope that employers see a self motivated person who has some life experience rather than just focussing on the fact that I am not 24.