Newbie - Any help?

Amy Smith
Amy Smith Registered Posts: 54 Epic contributor 🐘
Hello! :001_smile:

I am completely new to this so bare with me...

I'm going to be studying for AAT and strangely starting at Level 3!

I am new to Accountancy and just wondered if anyone who has completed or is completing Level 2 could help me by giving me a list of what I need to know? :huh:

Happy Studying! :001_tongue:

Ams
Here to help
~AAT Qualified~

Comments

• crispy
    crispy Registered Posts: 466 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    I would guess to start off at level 3 assumed knowledge would be a sound grip oF book-keeping (Debits / Credits / Ledgers etc) and some basic costing.

A book such as Frank Woods bookeeping and accounts may come in handy if your knowledge is a bit rusty.

Enjoy :P
  • Spamkebab
    Spamkebab Registered Posts: 233 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hi

How come you are starting at level 3 if you haven't any knowledge of the level 2 content?

Good luck.

Neil.

P.S. Crispy is spot on recommending that book, it's like the bookkeepers bible.
  • guinea pig
    guinea pig Registered Posts: 402 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Have a look on this site, it will show you the syllabus covered in level 2. There are several books that cover this, Frank Woods and Osborne are good.
    Although I started with considerable knowledge, I was advised to do level 2 as a refresher, and I am pleased I did, otherwise I would have found level3 tougher. It also got me into the studying and exam routine.
    Good luck
    Gp
  • stevenhindry
    stevenhindry Registered Posts: 6 Regular contributor ⭐
    if you are pretty good with numbers and maths, level 2 can be quite easy,

ive started at level 3 and already passed two exams, one in 11 mins and one in 23mins,

and i was pretty new to accounts when i started
  • Amy Smith
    Well I'm in a Forensic accounting job at the moment and my training contract meant that I started at Level 3...