Not sure what to do...

ChazGD
ChazGD Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hey, such a shame my first post should be full of doubt but here goes -
I completed level 2 just before Christmas and in the middle of Accounts Prep 1&2 (the book has them combined) and I'm seriously having doubts about whether or not to continue.
I felt like this in the middle of level 2 but figured "hey, let's finish the level and see how it goes". I understand the content (eventually) but it does nothing for me. And to carry on takes so much commitment and I'd rather put this determination into something that I'll be most happy with, and for me, accountancy isn't it. I work in a bank but I'm an artist (at weekends, and at heart), and knowing this probably wouldn't get me the lifestyle I would like, I thought I'd qualify in a good, well-paid job to have the disposable income (and time, flexi-time, part time hours etc) to do what I love. I can't afford uni for a profession I'd really like to go for, I had a very simple and strapped-for-cash upbringing so always promised myself to make my life into something and have the quality I deserve, so I thought, even though it won't be easy, I'd go for accountancy. I'm very hard working and accomplished a lot for my age (23), 7 A-levels, HND's in Business Management, and 2 managerial jobs but none of these have taken me anywhere. Have no idea why I'm telling my life story but my point is - my heart isn't in it, I dread my work life ahead of me if I become qualified but I don't know what the alternative is. Also, quitting would disappoint my husband, mum and a posh (and quite snobby) extended family of professionals. I know it's me who has to live my life and not them but I dread what would happen both if I quit and if I don't. To accomplish such a mammoth thing like the AAT, I'm not sure I will feel the satisfaction at the end, it would be like "wow, you have a qualification for something you have absolutely no interest in". Yeah the money would be a