Cash Management - Gilts ?!?

Options
Rachie278
Rachie278 Registered Posts: 55 Epic contributor 🐘
I'm starting to think its an error in my BPP book, but I really can't grasp Gilts?!

'Gilts prices are quoted in the financial press every day and are priced for every £100 stock. For example, on 16 December 20X7 the quoted price for Treasury 4.25% 20X9 was £104.12. This means that £100 of the gilts cound have been purchased for £104.12 on 16 December 20X7

The gilts will be redeemabe in 20X9 at their nominal value of £100 and as the maturity date moves clsoer the gilt price will move towards £100'

:huh:

Should that last bit mean the gilt price will move towards £104.12? If not, then, to be honest, Gilts are as clear as mud to me!

Any plain english help would be very gratefully received!

Rachel:confused1:

Comments

• liveprincess
    liveprincess Registered Posts: 214 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    never heard of this when I studied CMGT few months ago...
  • Nps
    Nps Registered Posts: 782
    Options
    I don't know much about Gilts except for what I learnt when I did the exam, but from my understanding.....

The Gilt value is the amount which you will get on the redemption date. This may or may not be the price you actually pay to purchase it. You will then receive the interest at the rate shown in the Gilt name (paid in two instalments at 6 monthly intervals).

The price paid for the Gilt depends on the current interest rates, if the rates are higher than the interest shown on the Gilt, you are likely to pay less than the face value of the gilt (think of it as incentive to buy the gilt as otherwise it would be a poor investment as you'd be better off putting the cash into the bank). The upshot is that you are guaranteed to get more back at redemption than you paid for the Gilt originally.