New! Looking at Level 2/Career Change

liam89
liam89 Registered Posts: 27 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi all I am new to the forums so apologies for any questions that might sound daft! :blushing:

I'm 23 and have just come out of a role in digital marketing that I really didn't fit in well with, and has now made me re-evaluate my career choice.

I am a graduate of journalism and media, but now I feel like I would like to be able to have a practical skill to offer to make me employable. Accountancy ticked that box, as well as the fact that a close member of my family is established within the industry, showing it can be done with hard work!

That being said, I'm a little worried as to the best course of action to take from now. I have zero finance/accountancy experience, a degree (but completely unrelated) and I am currently out of work. My highest level achieved in Maths is a grade B at GCSE, which I am also concerned might hinder me finding experience in the industry.

Luckily I have a nest-egg of savings I am willing to demolish to become trained in this field. I took the skills test (recommended Level 2) and read through the information pack and reams of posts of advice, but am very nervous about taking the first step! I would like to gain my Level 2 qualification as soon as possible so I am not out of work for too long.

I was advised (even with my complete lack of experience) to send through a CV and cover letter to local Chartered Accountants indicating that I am looking for a role as Trainee Accountant, in the hopes that they will take me on and I will be able to do my course as I work there. In all honesty, is this realistic for someone like me? Or will I need to just apply for AAT, self-fund myself and look to get any job (retail etc) to tide me over?