Is this realistic?

Options
badgergirl
badgergirl Registered Posts: 8 Regular contributor ⭐
Hello all - I am new to the forums and AAT but have spent the last couple of days avidly reading through all the past posts and it has helped me to come up with a plan of action that I hope is realistic!

I am currently a small business owner looking to retrain in accountancy with a longer term plan of running a small accountancy business. I am also a single parent to a 2 year old with limited childcare options!

From running my own business and also from my previous employment I have a good understanding of some accounting practices but my lack of double-entry bookkeeping experience let me down on the AAT skilltest. So my plan was to self study Level 2 and use the practice tests and mock assessments on MYAAT until I felt comfortably knowledgable, and then progress on to self study for Level 3 without taking the L2 exams. I have bought the L2 books off eBay and they are winging their way to me now.

However I would like to do the current syllabus at Level 3 and I understand that I need to have started it before September in order to do so. So I was thinking that in parallel to studying L2 I could study and sit the exam for one L3 module by end of August. I am thinking of doing PEAF as this is more common sense/cramming information as opposed to learning new practices. But I am also considering Indirect Tax as I have some experience of this from running my business.

I guess my questions are:

Is between now and end of August a realistic timeframe to study for PEAF or Indirect Tax?
Will not having fully studied Level 2 be a hinderance to doing the above?
A bit subjective but should I go for PEAF or Indirect Tax as the L3 module to study and sit by end of August?

Apologies for the bombardment of questions and long winded first post! I hope it all makes sense!

Comments

• Nps
    Nps Registered Posts: 782
    Options
    Hello and welcome,