Trying to get work experience (North West/Cheshire/North Wales )

gazwales84
gazwales84 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
I am hoping someone can help. I am currently studying AAT Level 4 having already completed Levels 2&3. I am however finding it extremely hard to get some work experience, interviews or ultimately a finance related job.
I am 29 and live in West Cheshire, and Accounting/ Finance is a career change for me having spent about 12 years in the manufacturing industry. I have sent out almost 300 CV's, e-mails or speculative letters and applied for numerous jobs both agency and non-agency, but very rarely get a reply or any feedback.

Any tips would be fantastic.

Comments

• DebbievB
    DebbievB Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
    I'm going to be in your position in a couple of years. I've just started AAT level 2, I've been applying for jobs even before I started the course. I've signed up to a website called Do it, it's a volunteering website. As I have no experience of even working in an office environment. I'm curently waiting to receive an application form for the cab. Not sure if it'll help, but I have to do something. I've also noticed that alot of admin jobs are also accounts based. So really hoping I can take that route to get where I want to be.
  • Sam22
    Sam22 Registered Posts: 117 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Hello,

I was in your position too. I started studying AAT whilst employed as a Military Musician so my background couldn't be anymore different. I too found it really difficult to find work experience. I went round to all my local practices with my cv but no where would allow me to do any work experience or even to come and work for FREE a couple of days a week.