Spreadsheet Exam

PhillipP
PhillipP Registered Posts: 20 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
I was just interested to know about the content for the Level 3 Spreadsheet Exam.

I have worked through the Muddlestone practice assessment and have completed Scenario 1 and Scenario 2.

I have been using Excel for over 15 years but have never needed to use things like =min, =max, =if, absolute cell referencing, conditional formatting and pivot tables. It's been really good though learning all of these additional Excel features.

Having completed scenario 2 and tackled the additional features of =vlookup and =hlookup I have been informed that this work is unneccesary as it is not required in the examination and that the examination is similar to the Muddlestone practice paper.

I am still going to tackle the other scenarios though because I am keen to develop my Excel skills.

I would just like to know from anyone who is familiar with the exam whether it's true and that it's not necessary to learn about the VLOOKUP and HLOOKUP functions.

___________________________________________________________________________________

Last 2 exams:-
Spreadsheets
AP2

Comments

• Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    Hello Phillip

Interested to know who informed you that it was not necessary to learn the lookups.

I sat SPSW quite some time ago and can't remember the content. However, if the 'lookups' are in the syllabus I would learn them and ensure you are comfortable with them as they could be examined.

Imagine how you would feel if on the day of your exam a new question/paper was introduced (they did for cash management and also ICAS) and there was a question which involved the use of a lookups.

Good luck with the exam, I am sure you will be fine.

JC :o
    ~ An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest ~
    Benjamin Franklin
  • Rachie278
    Rachie278 Registered Posts: 55 Epic contributor 🐘