Advice re: becoming self-employed MIP

TheoVK
TheoVK Registered Posts: 15 Dedicated contributor πŸ¦‰
Hello all,

This appeared to be the most appropriate forum, but please excuse me if it is not. I wonder if I could ask for some advice. I am considering trying to become a part-time self-employed MIP with the AAT as a secondary source of income. Please forgive the long post, but before I ask any specific questions, I just wanted to give some background to add a little context to my situation.

I graduated with a BA(Hons) in Accounting back in 2000. I struggled to really get into the degree at that time, having no prior accounting experience at college or in practice, and just generally limited interest in the subject matter. Nevertheless, I got through it, and I did also spend about 12 months after graduating in temp purchase/sales/general ledger and credit control roles. I was offered a trainee accountant role, but ultimately did not pursue this, and later landed on a career in IT instead, starting as a graduate trainee and moving up through the grades to IT Consultant. I have worked in IT for 10 years.

For various reasons which I need not go into, I now need to look at additional sources of income. Given my degree, Accountancy seems a logical choice, and as far as my earlier reluctance goes, I believe I will have more interest and patience for the mechanics of it now than when I was younger (having been involved in the build and maintenance of various bespoke accounting software, I think I have had enough exposure to the sharp end, if not on a practitioner level, to be able to make this judgement). However, at this stage, and due to my primary motivations, its probably not realistic to fully retrain and go as far as trying to become a chartered accountant (ACCA/CIMA etc). So, my current plan, based on a little research, is as follows: