Advice needed..

Options
samantha1307
samantha1307 Registered Posts: 1 New contributor 🐸
Hi everyone,

I am new to this forum thing so bear with me! I was wondering if I could get some opinions on my situation. I am currently studying AAT Level 4, I'm about half way through it (which has taken me a year through distance learning!).

I work as a manager at a debt management company, and my job does not entail any accounting work whatsoever; I have been here now for four years - so for four years I have not worked within accounts. What I need advice with is basically where this Level 4 qualification is going to get me with no experience?

I won't go in to my personal circumstances, but I am really struggling to get through all the work/exams.. . I am seriously considering giving my studies up, as I fear that it won't get me anywhere once it's done. I work in management and I can't afford to take a massive pay drop to start again building a career in accounting.

Dilemma - please help?!

Comments

• Jo Clark
    Jo Clark Registered Posts: 2,525 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Options
    Hello Samantha

Welcome to the forum! :)

You could obtain experience by working on a voluntary basis. If you do a search on the forum there are several posts regarding this. I would give you the website address for an organisation that lists voluntary placements but they are currently being merged/reorganised so not sure if it will remain the same.

Another way of gaining experience would be to try contacting a local church or school to see if they need a treasurer.

Good luck.

JC

p.s. Don't give up on your studies as you have come so far :o
    ~ An investment in knowledge always pays the best interest ~
    Benjamin Franklin
  • Nps
    Nps Registered Posts: 782
    Options
    Unfortunately, if you are currently on a good wage, any start in accountancy will involve a pay drop, unless you are very lucky and find a move in your current company at the same grade.