Ignorant Chartered Accountant

Ellabobbin
Ellabobbin Registered Posts: 92 Epic contributor 🐘
Hi, I wonder if anyone has any tips on how to deal with this... I have recently met with a prospective client. The meeting went well and they asked that I take on their accounts/tax return/payroll. I duly sent my letter for professional clearance, and so the outgoing accountant knows I am both AAT and ATT qualified. Nearly a week later I receive an email saying that the previous accountant has advised them to check that I am a certified accountant and not a bookkeeper... He clearly knows I am not certified/chartered, he also knows I hold professional qualifications and am not a bookkeeper! He doesn't know I am an ATT prize winner though a friend did suggest my medal needs shoving where the sun doesn't shine lol, nor that I am currently studying my CTA... Any suggestions gratefully received, I feel now he has sown a seed of doubt our previous rapport may count for nothing 😕

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    Overall clients don't really care. Can you prove to the client that Chartered/Certified does not necessarily mean they are a good accountant. Explain what this allows them to do i.e. Audits and how that really is not relative to smaller businesses anymore. Explain the type of clients you act for and possibly your good rapport with those clients and ,if true, the lack of investigations from HMRC. I am only AAT qualified. I occasionally have had potential clients ask what the difference is but many don't really care as long as they trust you and you can do a good job.
    Regards,

Burg
  • wannabebean
    wannabebean Registered Posts: 72 Regular contributor ⭐
    I would report him to his Chartered body. He is not allowed to imply something he manifestly knows is not true. If he has implied you are a book keeper I would report him.
  • jamesm96
    jamesm96 Registered Posts: 523