Bookkeeping?

I have completed AAT level 2 and need an income as I'm still unable to find employment. I'm considering doing bookkeeping for sole traders, but not payroll. I have some work experience using Xero, for a couple of limited companies.

I've also been talking to Xero and discussing their partner programme, including Xero Certification.

Am I qualified to go ahead and do this? I understand any clients would still need to get a sign off from an accountant at their year end. I assume I would just need to furnish them with the correct reports e.g. expenditure, trial balance, profit & loss, plus the client's receipts, statements, etc.

Any advice welcome - thanks

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor πŸ§™β€β™‚οΈ
    It depends, are you competent in offering these services? As you are a student you will not be able to make any reference to AAT and as such will be unregulated. However you will still need professional indemnity insurance and money laundering supervision.

Personally I don't feel that level 2 alone equips you with all the skills needed for bookkeeping but you say you have experience so it really depends on how much you can actually complete.

Good luck
  • davetee101
    davetee101 Registered Posts: 4
    edited February 2015
    Hi Gem

Bit confused so I did some digging around on the AAT website. The AAT 2 qualification states.

Possible jobs after completing this qualification
    Accounts Administrator
    Accounts Assistant
    Accounts Payable Clerk
    Bookkeeper
    Payroll Administrator
    Payroll Officer
    Purchase/Sales Ledger Clerk
    Tax Assistant/Trainee
    Trainee Accounts Technician

If I have completed the qualification how am I still a student? PID is normal for any business...not just Bookkeeping. As for money laundering supervision, AAT is a recognised supervisory authority of which I'm a member.
  • Gem7321