Help needed!

luckyz
luckyz Registered Posts: 8
I am studying Processing bookkeping transactions at the moment and there is one thing I can't get my head around:
http://forums.aat.org.uk/discussion/440781/posting-petty-cash-to-general-ledgers#latest
Does anyone know how to answer my question please?

Comments

• AGI2015
    AGI2015 Registered Posts: 45
    Do you have any task for this?
  • luckyz
    I don't have specific task as such. I am just not sure where I go wrong with my thinking.

Giving an example:
    Cheque is written to Petty Cash. We record this operation on the credit side of the Cash Book under Bank column and Petty Cash column. Once we post it to general ledger accounts, it will be credit to Bank Ledger and debit to Pettty Cash Ledger.
    And now considering the debit side of Petty Cash Book - the same operation will appear here - receipt money from bank. If we post it to general ledger we will need to debit Petit Cash Ledger and credit Bank Ledger.
    I don't think it's correct to post the same thing twice, so what is the proper way to address this problem?

Is there anyone able to explain it?
  • AGI2015
    When you pay money out is Credit side in Cash book and Bank account, but when your receive money or pay into your account is Debit - that means this is an asset for you.I don't think you have to post these transactions twice, unless you require to do this.
  • luckyz
    I believe it would be wrong to post these transactions twice. How do i aproach the problem of posting from books of prime entry to the ledgers then?
    For example:
    I post everything from credit side of Cash Book including posting credit to Bank Ledger and debit to Petty Cash Ledger, exactly the same as I would debit cash purchases or trade payables for example and later ignore debit side of Petty Cash Book and will not post anything from there.
    Or