Accountants still stereo-typed along with other careers?

I am an accountant because I have always been comfortable and confident with numbers, enjoy problem solving and breaking down issues. In particularly I found the career prospects very enticing when I was 18 years old especially through AAT study.

I then found it very interesting in gaining an insight into the small business world and enjoyed working in an open office where there was a lot of interaction including open client meetings with the partner.

What am I getting at? Well people often see accountants as white collar (I don't wear ties now though!) pen pushers who are maybe a little geeky (I can be in all fairness when it comes to gaming) and have a certain personality, perhaps one that is not very people friendly.

Having now worked in accounts for around 13 years I have to say that to thrive in practice you need good people skills and this can be just as important if not more important than the technical skills to help you get on in senior roles. Yes you need to prove yourself technically but 'E-Q' IE emotional intelligence is very important to help you deal with people.

A close family member recently read a poem that I've written for my Wife and was wax lyrical about how good it was. Whether she is a good judge of this is another matter but she did not expect me to have such a creative side. I enjoy writing fictional material (kids stories for my little ones mainly, the latest of witch is 'The Giant and the Tree Witch') as it is a kind of release for me, breaking away from the systems and general conformism that accounting can offer.

I think that perceptions can be so wrong...

Comments

• Buhir_the_Bookkeeper
    Buhir_the_Bookkeeper Registered Posts: 36 Regular contributor ⭐
    Thanks for putting a smile on my face

I am definetley an accountant -

and a Father
    and a Husband
    and a agony aunt to my clients
    and a friend to a few friends
    and at times a helper to those in need