CV recommendations?

datkins91
datkins91 Registered Posts: 3 New contributor 🐸
Hey ya'll.

So I've almost completed Level 2 in the AAT qualification; all but the WEAF project and Computerised Accounting, which both will soon be completed in the coming month. It has been suggested that I begin applying to as many positions as I can by my lecturers, so that is what I shall be doing!

I have never worked in accountancy before and am paying for this first level out of my own pocket, which is also partly the reason I wish to hopefully secure a position within accountancy so they may help fund the next level for me starting in September/October. I'm not saying this is going to be easy by any means! But it's my plan so far...

So I was wondering what I should include within my CV in regards to my progression with AAT.. should I just simply state the units which I have passed.. or would it be an idea to print out the 'achievements' on the website.. (not saying it's a good idea, but wondered what you guys thought?)

Also, any other tips and pointers for my CV would be much appreciated!

Thanks.

Comments

• twinks01
    twinks01 Registered Posts: 16 New contributor 🐸
    You could perhaps include a brief explanation of what kind of things were covered in Level 2, as potential employers might not know and add that you intend to carry on with your studies. Try and think of anything you can add on even if it is small, such as you did a short Sage course or you add up your mum's cash book sometimes or you went to a branch meeting once. Anything thats shows you do more than you need to I suppose, so that you stand out.
  • uknitty
    uknitty Registered Posts: 591 Epic contributor 🐘
    A CV should show your strengths not just list what you did. I'd advise highlighting the units you enjoyed most and were most successul at. For example, I most enjoyed Unit 5 so I'd probably say somthing like this:

AAT Intermediate: