How to increase my chances of being employed by a large company

Options
turbo_sammie
turbo_sammie Registered Posts: 51 Regular contributor ⭐
Hi guys,

I'm hoping someone on here will be able to give me a bit of advice. I'm currently studying L4 (about halfway through) and I'm at a point where I need to think about settling down in a job long term. I've identified a company that I really, really want to work for as I'm completely passionate about their brand and love the idea of being able to work for a company that has been such a big part of my personal life. They frequently advertise new finance roles on their website, and I apply for all the roles that are relevant to me, but all I've had so far is rejection. I feel like my application is the strongest it can be, and spend hours on each cover letter to match my skills to the job spec, and also try to get across my passion and enthusiasm. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but all I can think is that they must get hundreds of applications for each role and I just need to make myself stand out a bit more, but I don't know how to do this. Does anyone have any ideas of how I can grab their attention?

Thanks in advance!

Comments

• nick_989
    nick_989 Registered Posts: 3
    Options
    Do you already work in accounts or would this be your first accountancy role? I'm thinking about retraining will AAT and my biggest concern is not being able to find suitable employment afterwards.

Once I get into the course, I'm going to send out prospective letters, possibly even call them if there is a job I like to introduce myself (not sure how that will go down though!).
  • StuartW
    StuartW Registered Posts: 472 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Options
    Hi @turbo_sammie,