Getting Into Accounting

JYOUNG88
JYOUNG88 Registered Posts: 4
Hello everyone,

Just wondering whether you could share your knowledge and experiences of getting into accounting. I am a recent graduate of Sheffield Hallam University where I achieved a 2:1 in Mathematics. Since graduating I have had various roles from working with disabled children, bar work and more recently in an office doing admin work. I am desperate to begin a career in accounting but have been unsuccessful thus far with applications.

I am now considering studying the aat from home and paying for it myself. Will this give me the extra boost I need when applying for jobs? How much can I expect to pay and where is best to do said course?

Sorry for the mass of questions, any help is greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    What sort of positions have you been applying for? I think you would be best applying for trainee positions with larger practices who run graduate schemes, it is likely they will then support your study.
  • JYOUNG88
    I have been applying to both small and large firms offering graduate schemes with no luck as of yet. That's why I am curious if I do start the AAT qualification will this give me the advantage I need to obtain a graduate job?

I have read that the AAT level 2 can be completed without a training provider, simply buy the text books and register for the exams when you feel prepared. Is this feasible?
  • Gem7321
    Gem7321 Registered Posts: 1,438 Beyond epic contributor 🧙‍♂️
    Are you getting to interview stage or not? If not I'd suggest having someone take a look at your CV.
  • StuartW
    StuartW Registered Posts: 472 Dedicated contributor 🦉
    Hi @JYOUNG88