Career help

Hi,

I am 28 year old working as an Account Executive for a mid sized communications company. My title is misleading as it doesn't involve any accounting! I manage clients who use our services, my most notable client being a leading UK energy supplier. So a lot of client interaction!

I have a Masters degree in Statistics with Distinction, and a Degree in Mathematics and Statistics, so i know I'm able to use numbers well. I’ve worked at Unilever as a statistician and so I have some experience in this.
However, that role in Unilever was covering maternity leave and ended after around 9 months. After that there weren’t many roles around in statistics and to avoid not having a job, I took a job in a charity, fundraising etc, interviewing volunteers. Then moved on to the role that I am in now in a new company.

While I was out of work between Unilever and my charity job I did some local courses on SAGE and Manual Double Entry Bookkeeping. I found them really interesting and, maybe as silly as it sounds, I looked forward to my classes each week. I found it quite engaging. I know that I would love a role in accounting but I’m unsure how to get into now, or whether it is too late?

Does anyone have any advice? Is it worth sticking in this job while doing the AAT as an online learning course? Or is it too late? I really dislike my current job and it is making me quite ill, not that anyone would know! I keep things professional but each night I feel so sad about coming in here!

Thanks in advance for your help, I really appreciate it.

Comments

• shamil91
    shamil91 Registered Posts: 94 Regular contributor ⭐
    Hi there,