Should I carry on with AAT Level 4?

Hallo
I am in my 40's and currently half way through Level 4. I am struggling with whether to continue or not as I have a horrible feeling that I am going to end up "qualified" but with no experience. I work for a charity for 20 hours a week but all they do is travel reimbursements and some reconcilliations. So I have seen some bookkeeping but not much. I don't know what I should do next and this is creating a huge issue with my motivation. You all know how much of a struggle it is to get Level 4 whilst working (and I am a mum too). What can I set my sights on? Should I keep going? Is it going to be worth it??

Comments

• MarieNoelle
    MarieNoelle Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,368
    Hi Ellie,
    I started AAT at 40, started doing some bookkeeping for my local PTA then worked in practice as an accounts assistant - Once AAT qualified I then did the ATT and felt more confident about setting up on my own. I am now studying towards my CTA qualification whilst looking after my clients. It works for me because I can now organise my life around my 3 children and I get to challenge myself everyday on the job front.

Ultimately you have to look at what is important for you - are you happy staying in your job and does your employer value your qualification? Would you like to do something more challenging? If you are half-way through level 4 you are so close to qualify it would be a shame to give up now. Once qualified you are in a stronger position to apply for a new job; you say you have little experience of bookkeeping but you may be able to ask at work if you could get more involved with that side of things. With AAT under your belt it is something you will pick up easily, do not underestimate yourself!

Good luck!
  • EllieBlossom
    EllieBlossom Registered Posts: 4
    Thankyou for replying. I do like tax!!!! I am so encouraged to hear from someone else in my age range too. Bless ya!