Setting up MIP

Hi,

I am currently completing AAT Level 4 and hope to be finished by June. I have a goal to set up my own practice on the side of my current job which I work in finance for a telecoms company. Recently I attended an AAT Be your own boss seminar which gave me a lot of insight into this area.

I have just turned 22 and the problem I have is that I am not sure if clients favour more 'experienced' accountants to do there work. I feel as if potential customers might not feel as 'safe' as they would with other professionals because of my age.

Has anyone had any experience with setting up a practice or trying to acquire clients and came across the same problem?

Richard

Comments

• burg
    burg Registered, Moderator Posts: 1,441 mod
    I was classed as a young accountant. I started my own practice aged 23. My time in life meant maybe I had more experience than others not necessarily in practice but in general life. I moved out with my girlfriend aged 16. Bought our own house at 18 and also got married. At age 23 I had three children too.

I do look younger than my age as well. Without going into great detail (see some other posts of mine for that) it has not held me back. I now run a successful practice with 2 members of staff and just recruiting a third and I've just turned 30.

I did get plenty of experience in a small practice doing a varied role for a vast range of clients. This set me up well with some great experience to take forward.

Good luck
    Regards,

Burg
  • Richardc1994
    Richardc1994 Registered Posts: 11
    I agree, I think as long as you feel confident and you are competent you can carry out the task in hand it shouldn't be a problem.

Given the feedback I am probably going to look into some voluntary work in a local practice before I pursue this any further.

Burg - what age were you when you first started working in an accounting practice before you set your own up?

• Lucy_M