Advice on Bookkeeping from home?

Options
Hello, I'm looking for some advice on offering Bookkeeping services from home. To fill you in with some of my details:- I have just completed AAT Level 2 & I am studying AAT Level 3 at the minute; I'm currently unemployed due to having a 1 year old child. Before I finished work & started studying I had 4/5 years work experience in sales/purchases/credit control etc. so studying hasn't been too challenging for me (yet!); My ambition has always been to run my own business & once I've completed my studies I hope to progress onto CIMA or ICCA, decisions decisions.
Now onto the actual question! I'm hoping to offer bookkeeping services to small/new start up companies or other accounting firms and build up my clients and services as I progress, then by the time I've finished AAT I will have enough practical experience and income to further my studies & offer full time work, rather than wait until I've finished studying to start my career. I have some savings which I can use to start up and I'm aware you need insurance, charging rates and all the 'boring' stuff but I'm really interested in other people's experiences from similar situations.
I've looked online and a lot of it is about insurance, marketing yourself & bringing in clients whereas none of it is a more personal account of how people put the wheels in motion?
Thanks in advance

Comments

• gwenb
    gwenb Registered Posts: 42
    Options
    Hello. Having finished the Accounting qualification a couple of months ago while working for a company doing bookkeeping, tax and credit control, I believe there is much more to learn in order to start flying solo.